Texas Comptroller Form 86-114 & Successor Liability (Tex. Tax Code §111.020)
Under Texas Tax Code §111.020, a buyer who purchases a business or stock of goods in Texas must withhold enough of the purchase price to cover any unpaid state taxes (such as sales and use tax or franchise tax) until the seller provides a Certificate of No Tax Due from the Texas Comptroller, requested via Comptroller Form 86-114. Under the statute, if the Comptroller does not issue the certificate or mail notice of the amount due within 60 days after receiving the written request or after the records are made available for audit (and within 90 days total after receiving the request), the buyer is released from the obligation to withhold the purchase price.